Acknowledge to Country


Wunya ngulum

(Gubbi Gubbi Language), 

Yhurri Gurri

(Waka Waka Language) ,


(Badtjala Language),

Gamba daru

(Barunggam Language).

In keeping with Family Day Care Providers C & R Cowling-Scaife’ commitment to reconciliation and respect, we respectfully acknowledge the Traditional Owners of the land on which we meet, work and educate, the Bungarnuba people (Undumbi, Gubbi Gubbi and the Dulingbara people), Wakka Wakka people, Butchulla  people and Barunggam people and we also pay our respects to Elders past and present.

It is a privilege to be using traditional lands of the Aboriginal people.

We also acknowledge the important role of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people within FDCP and the communities we work with.

We also acknowledge the contributions of Aboriginal Australians and non-Aboriginal Australians to the education of all children and people in this country we all live in and share together – Australia.

History and significance of flags History and significance of the Aboriginal flag

The Aboriginal flag is an official flag of Australia and was recognised under Federal legislation in July 1995. Designed by Aboriginal Elder Harold Thomas in 1971, this flag symbolises Aboriginal identity. Mr Thomas has been recognised as the designer of the Aboriginal flag by the Federal Court and has been granted backdated copyright of the design to 1971.

The top half of the flag is black to represent the Aboriginal people. The red in the lower half represents the red earth (the relationship to the land) and the red ochre used in Aboriginal ceremonies. The circle of yellow represents the sun (giver of life) and yellow ochre.

History and significance of the Torres Strait Islander flag

The Torres Strait Islander flag is an official flag of Australia and was recognised under Federal legislation in July 1995. The flag designed by Torres Strait Islander Mr Bernard Namok, is emblazoned with a white Dhari (headdress) which is a prominent symbol of Torres Strait Islander peoples.

The white five pointed star beneath it symbolises peace, the five major island groups and the navigational importance of stars to the seafaring people of the Torres Strait. The five island groups include:

  • Northern Division (Boigu, Dauan, Saibai)
  • Eastern Islander (Darnley, Murray, Stephen)
  • Western Division (St. Pauls, Kubin, Badu, Mabuiag)
  • Central Division (Yorke, Coconut, Warraber, Yam)
  • Southern Division (Thursday Island and Inner Islander, NPA and Mainland Australia.

The green stripes represent the land, the black stripes represent the people, and the blue represents the sea.

History and significance of the Australian flag

The Australian National flag is Australia’s foremost national symbol.

The Australian flag has three elements on a blue background: the Union Jack, the Commonwealth Star and the Southern Cross. The Union Jack in the upper left corner (or canton) acknowledges the history of British settlement. Below the Union Jack is a white Commonwealth or Federation star. It has seven points representing the unity of the six states and the territories of the Commonwealth of Australia. The star is also featured on the Arms. The Southern Cross is shown on the fly of the flag in white. This constellation of five stars can be seen only from the southern hemisphere and is a reminder of Australia’s geography.